"While honoring the Fa’a-Samoa (the Samoan Way), we will serve American Samoa’s diverse community by providing research, extension, and educational programs in agriculture, natural resources, and wellness to enhance the quality of life and to preserve our fragile ecosystem."

American Samoa

American Samoa consists of the five volcanic islands that form the eastern portion of the Samoa Archipelago plus two coral atolls, Swains Island to the north and Rose Atoll to the east. The western islands of the group comprise the independent nation of Samoa. American Samoa is about 2,300 miles southwest of Hawaii and 1,500 miles northeast of New Zealand, the only United States territory located in the southern hemisphere. The Samoan climate is tropical, and much of the islands is covered by dense tropical rainforest. The territory's aproximately 45,000 people live mostly along the southern shore of Tutuila Island. The topography is generally steep and rugged. About 90% of the land remains under traditional communal ownership and the Samoan language and culture remain vibrant and strong.

Map of American Samoa islands

History of the Land Grant Program

In 1980, the American Samoa Community College (ASCC) became a Land Grant Institution when a Congressional amendment to the Morrill Act of 1862 allowed colleges in American Samoa and Micronesia to be eligible for membership in the Land Grant System. Federal funds were provided to develop programs in Agriculture, Family and Consumer Sciences, 4-H Youth Development, and Forestry. The following year, a 10-acre experiment station adjacent to the campus was designated as the home of the Land Grant Program. HC Pemerika Tauiliili, a former AS Director of Agriculture, was its first Director.

American Samoa Land Grant History - Original site of Land Grant Program

First Director of Land Grant Program, HC Pemerika Tauiliili, at the original site of the Land Grant Program.

The Center for Tropical Agricultural Research was dedicated in Director Tauiliili's honor in March 1996.

Now known as the Agriculture, Community and Natural Resources (ACNR) Division, a staff of about 60 serves in its Research, Extension, and Instruction programs. Research and extension programs generate and disseminate information in the areas of agriculture, forestry, health and wellness, nutrition, and families and youth. Classroom instructional programs offer coursework towards degrees in Agribusiness, Family and Consumer Sciences, General Agriculture, and Natural Resources. Through its research, extension, and instructional programs, ASCC-ACNR strives to serve the unique needs of the local community.