Family & Consumer Sciences

Family and Consumer Sciences

The Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) Program at ASCC-ACNR provides education in the areas of family and consumer economics, health and wellness, nutrition, food safety, apparel, and textiles. It focuses on the human dimensions of food and agriculture. Through outreach education and partnerships, FCS helps families and consumers make informed decisions that enhance the quality of life and well-being. FCS at ACNR mainly focuses on teaching basic sewing skills through classes offered by request in the community. Nearly 100% of the requests for FCS workshops are from church, village, and women's organizations that are interested in learning basic sewing skills. The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program and the Health and Wellness Program are also part of the FCS Program.


Projects and Programs

FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES TEAM

Tialavea Molly Asifoa-Lagai

Acting Family and Consumer Sciences Program Manager

Diana Tarrant

Family & Consumer Science Extension Agent II

d.tarrant@amsamoa.edu

Suelynn Molesi

Family & Consumer Science Extension Agent I

s.molesi@amsamoa.edu

Shalley Tailevai

Family & Consumer Science Extension Agent I

s.tailevai@amsamoa.edu

Talimatagi Isaako

EFNEP Nutrition Assistant

t.isaako@amsamoa.edu

Ese Misiaita

EFNEP Nutrition Assistant

e.misiaita@amsamoa.edu

Travis Fleming

Community Nutritionist

t.fleming@amsamoa.edu

Sebastian Mariner

Health and Fitness Specialist

s.mariner@amsamoa.edu

Saono Enesi

Exercise Assistant

s.enesi2@amsamoa.edu