Staff & Faculty


Aufa‘i Apulu Ropeti Areta


Talofa Lava and Greetings,

With its rapidly growing population and fragile island environment, and not to mention the ongoing impacts of COVID-19, American Samoa has an acute need for research projects to be conducted and extension programs to be developed and delivered locally that can help the community develop its own solutions to meet the needs of this growing population while protecting the islands’ precious natural resources. Increasing economic links and air travel mean increasing frequency of accidental introductions of invasive exotic pests and human and animal diseases. Greater market integration and lifestyle and dietary changes have resulted in an increased incidence of non-communicable diseases. Global economic trends present new threats as well as new opportunities.

As the Land Grant institution for American Samoa, the American Samoa Community College is uniquely positioned to address these pressing issues through research, extension, and instructional programs that are suited to our environment and culture. State-of-the-art laboratories and scientific expertise situated on the islands and embedded in the local cultural context constitute a powerful resource for our community.

American Samoa has undergone enormous changes in recent decades as globalization in all its dimensions increasingly permeates our lives. Throughout its history, ASCC-ACNR has continuously transformed itself to improve its capacity to serve our community in the face of these changes. This process continues today as we rise to new challenges and explore new opportunities.

Faafetai tele lava,

Aufa'i Apulu Ropeti Areta

Administrative & Support Staff

Eseta Su‘a-Kalio

Office Manager

Mary Scanlan

Administrative Officer

Daisy Talatau Mauga Lei

Extension Administrative Officer

Joyce Peters

Administrative Assistant II

Neil Gurr

GIS Specialist

Daniel Helsham

Media Specialist

Daniel Ofagalilo

IT Supervisor


Seiuli Dr. Michael Otto Hansell

Instruction Program Coordinator/Animal Science Instructor

Leilua Ionatana Fasavalu

Agriculture and Natural Resources Instructor

Pauline Tuitele-McFall

Nutrition Instructor

Eirenei Tesimale

Greenhouse Technician


Tialavea Molly Asifoa-Lagai

Extension Program Coordinator/4-H Program Manager

Elenoa Taisali

4-H Agent III

Aliimau Petaia

4-H Agent II-B

Autagavaia Alfred Peters

Agriculture Program Manager

Seiuli Dr. Michael Otto Hansell

Animal Specialist

James Gurr

Extension Crop Specialist

Lefua Amio Mavaega-Luvu

Agriculture Extension Agent III

June Talamoni

Agriculture Extension Agent III

Mele Faiai

Agriculture Extension Agent I - Manu‘a

Manisesa Danielson

Livestock Technician

Apulu Sione Matai'a

Agriculture Extension Assistant I (A)

Mekisateko Fiaavae

Agriculture Extension Assistant I

Tulagalua Nimo

Agriculture Extension Assistant I

Kelley Anderson Tagarino

UH Sea Grant - Extension Specialist

Francis Leiato

Aquaculture Extension Agent I

Ese Misiaita

EFNEP Nutrition Agent II

Talimatagi Isaako

EFNEP Nutrition Agent I

Diana Tarrant

Family & Consumer Science Specialist II

Suelynn Molesi

Family & Consumer Science Specialist I

Shalley Tailevai

Family & Consumer Science Extension Agent I

Travis Fleming

Community Nutritionist

Sebastian Mariner

Health and Fitness Specialist

Saono Enesi

Exercise Assistant

Denis Sene Jr.

Forestry Program Manager

Fitiuta Faafoi Tony Mauga Lei

Urban Community Forestry Specialist

Uiki Isaako

Forest Health Specialist

Simon Stowers

Forest Stewardship Specialist

Naseri Meki

Forestry Watershed Technician

Pasia Setu

Forestry Technician II

John Ah Sue Jr.

Extension Forestry Technician

Imeleta Matautia

Forestry Technician


Dr. Mark Schmaedick

Research Program Coordinator/Entomologist

Metotagivale Pitoitua

Entomology Lab Manager

Faavaoa Ielafi

Entomology Technician

Niela Leifi

Entomology Technician

Ian Gurr

Horticulture Researcher

Jennet Chang

Research Assistant II - Horticulture

Ellen Ropeti-Ng Lam

Research Assistant I - Horticulture

Elisha Meleisea

Horticulture Technician

Sharon Fanolua Sunia

Research Assistant

Maintenance & Custodians

Tolomoa Alalamua

Station Manager

Iakopo Tuiolenuu

Maintenance Technician II

Silialaei Situfu Tusi


Jerry Faaloua


Sala Laki Sa


Sialuga Tofaeono