Staff & Faculty

Director

Aufa‘i Apulu Ropeti Areta

Director

a.areta@amsamoa.edu

Talofa Lava and Greetings,

With its rapidly growing population and fragile island environment, and not to mention the ongoing impacts of COVID-19, American Samoa has an acute need for research projects to be conducted and extension programs to be developed and delivered locally that can help the community develop its own solutions to meet the needs of this growing population while protecting the islands’ precious natural resources. Increasing economic links and air travel mean increasing frequency of accidental introductions of invasive exotic pests and human and animal diseases. Greater market integration and lifestyle and dietary changes have resulted in an increased incidence of non-communicable diseases. Global economic trends present new threats as well as new opportunities.

As the Land Grant institution for American Samoa, the American Samoa Community College is uniquely positioned to address these pressing issues through research, extension, and instructional programs that are suited to our environment and culture. State-of-the-art laboratories and scientific expertise situated on the islands and embedded in the local cultural context constitute a powerful resource for our community.

American Samoa has undergone enormous changes in recent decades as globalization in all its dimensions increasingly permeates our lives. Throughout its history, ASCC-ACNR has continuously transformed itself to improve its capacity to serve our community in the face of these changes. This process continues today as we rise to new challenges and explore new opportunities.


Faafetai tele lava,

Aufa'i Apulu Ropeti Areta

Administrative & Support Staff

Eseta Su‘a-Kalio

Office Manager

e.sua-kalio@amsamoa.edu

Mary Scanlan

Administrative Officer

m.scanlan@amsamoa.edu

Daisy Talatau Mauga Lei

Extension Administrative Officer

d.talataumaugalei@amsamoa.edu

Joyce Peters

Administrative Assistant II

j.peters2@amsamoa.edu

Neil Gurr

GIS Specialist

n.gurr@amsamoa.edu

Daniel Helsham

Media Specialist

d.helsham2@amsamoa.edu

Daniel Ofagalilo

IT Supervisor

d.ofagalilo@amsamoa.edu

Instruction

Seiuli Dr. Michael Otto Hansell

Instruction Program Coordinator/Animal Science Instructor

o.hansell@amsamoa.edu

Leilua Ionatana Fasavalu

Agriculture and Natural Resources Instructor

i.fasavalu@amsamoa.edu

Pauline Tuitele-McFall

Nutrition Instructor

p.mcfall@amsamoa.edu

Eirenei Tesimale

Greenhouse Technician

e.tesimale@amsamoa.edu

Extension

Tialavea Molly Asifoa-Lagai

Extension Program Coordinator/4-H Program Manager

m.lagai@amsamoa.edu

Elenoa Taisali

4-H Agent III

e.taisali@amsamoa.edu

Aliimau Petaia

4-H Agent II-B

a.petaia@amsamoa.edu

Autagavaia Alfred Peters

Agriculture Program Manager

a.peters4@amsamoa.edu

Seiuli Dr. Michael Otto Hansell

Animal Specialist

o.hansell@amsamoa.edu

James Gurr

Extension Crop Specialist

j.gurr@amsamoa.edu

Lefua Amio Mavaega-Luvu

Agriculture Extension Agent III

a.mavaega-luvu@amsamoa.edu

June Talamoni

Agriculture Extension Agent III

j.talamoni@amsamoa.edu

Mele Faiai

Agriculture Extension Agent I - Manu‘a

m.faiai@amsamoa.edu

Manisesa Danielson

Livestock Technician

m.danielson3@amsamoa.edu

Apulu Sione Matai'a

Agriculture Extension Assistant I (A)

s.mataia@amsamoa.edu

Mekisateko Fiaavae

Agriculture Extension Assistant I

m.fiaavae@amsamoa.edu

Tulagalua Nimo

Agriculture Extension Assistant I

t.nimo@amsamoa.edu

Kelley Anderson Tagarino

UH Sea Grant - Extension Specialist

kelleyat@hawaii.edu

Francis Leiato

Aquaculture Extension Agent I

f.leiato@amsamoa.edu

Ese Misiaita

EFNEP Nutrition Agent II

e.misiaita@amsamoa.edu

Talimatagi Isaako

EFNEP Nutrition Agent I

t.isaako@amsamoa.edu

Diana Tarrant

Family & Consumer Science Specialist II

d.tarrant@amsamoa.edu

Suelynn Molesi

Family & Consumer Science Specialist I

s.molesi@amsamoa.edu

Shalley Tailevai

Family & Consumer Science Extension Agent I

s.tailevai@amsamoa.edu

Travis Fleming

Community Nutritionist

t.fleming@amsamoa.edu

Sebastian Mariner

Health and Fitness Specialist

s.mariner@amsamoa.edu

Saono Enesi

Exercise Assistant

s.enesi2@amsamoa.edu

Denis Sene Jr.

Forestry Program Manager

d.sene@amsamoa.edu

Fitiuta Faafoi Tony Mauga Lei

Urban Community Forestry Specialist

t.maugalei2@amsamoa.edu

Uiki Isaako

Forest Health Specialist

u.isaako@amsamoa.edu

Simon Stowers

Forest Stewardship Specialist

s.stowers@amsamoa.edu

Naseri Meki

Forestry Watershed Technician

n.meki@amsamoa.edu

Pasia Setu

Forestry Technician II

p.setu@amsamoa.edu

John Ah Sue Jr.

Extension Forestry Technician

j.ahsue@amsamoa.edu

Imeleta Matautia

Forestry Technician

i.matautia2@amsamoa.edu

Research

Dr. Mark Schmaedick

Research Program Coordinator/Entomologist

m.schmaedick@amsamoa.edu

Metotagivale Pitoitua

Entomology Lab Manager

m.meredith@amsamoa.edu


Faavaoa Ielafi

Entomology Technician

f.ielafi@amsamoa.edu

Niela Leifi

Entomology Technician

n.leifi@amsamoa.edu

Ian Gurr

Horticulture Researcher

i.gurr@amsamoa.edu

Jennet Chang

Research Assistant II - Horticulture

j.chang@amsamoa.edu

Ellen Ropeti-Ng Lam

Research Assistant I - Horticulture

e.ropeti@amsamoa.edu

Elisha Meleisea

Horticulture Technician

e.meleisea@amsamoa.edu

Sharon Fanolua Sunia

Research Assistant

f.fanoluasunia@amsamoa.edu

Maintenance & Custodians

Tolomoa Alalamua

Station Manager

t.alalamua2@amsamoa.edu

Iakopo Tuiolenuu

Maintenance Technician II

Silialaei Situfu Tusi

Handyman

Jerry Faaloua

Custodian

Sala Laki Sa

Custodian

Sialuga Tofaeono

Custodian